The International ONSEN Summit is the world's first international conference on ONSEN where participants exchange information and engage in discussion on the use of ONSEN resources and the potential for regional development. Participants in the Summit included leaders and researchers from ONSEN areas in Japan and around the world. Following a keynote speech and case study speeches, more in-depth discussion in three distinct areas was had by separate working groups, and as a final result of that debate, the International ONSEN Summit Declaration was adopted.

Summit dates May 25 (Fri) – 27 (Sun), 2018
Location Beppu City, Oita Prefecture
Beppu International Convention Center (B-Con Plaza)
Organizer International ONSEN Summit Organization Board Committee
Katsusada Hirose (Governor of Oita Prefecture)
Vice Chairman
Yasuhiro Nagano (Mayor of Beppu City)
Vice Chairman
Koji Yukishige (President of Tourism Oita (Oita Prefectural Tourism Association))
Shoji Himeno (Chairman of Oita Association of Corporate Executives)
14 Other Committee Members
  • Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI)
  • Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport (MLIT)
  • Japan Tourism Agency (JTA)
  • Ministry of the Environment (MOE)
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA)
  • Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO)
  • Japan National Tourism Organization (JNTO)
  • Japan Travel and Tourism Association (JTTA) / The Japan Foundation
  • Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
Theme Possibility of Regional Development by Worldwide ONSEN Locations:
Diverse Ways to Utilize Local Resources Connected with ONSEN
Working Groups
  • Working Group (1) Tourism: New Possibilities of ONSEN Tourism
  • Working Group (2) Medical, Health & Beauty: Vision of ONSEN Use for Healthy Life Expectancy and Healing - From Kur to Wellness
  • Working Group (3) Energy: Use of ONSEN as a Sustainable Energy Source
Participating Countries and Regions 17 Regions in 16 Countries (listed in alphabetical order based on United Nations nomenclature)
  1. 1. People's Republic of China: Xianning
  2. 2. People's Republic of China: Yantai
  3. 3. Czech Republic: Hodonin
  4. 4. French Republic: Vichy
  5. 5. Federal Republic of Germany: Bad Krozingen
  6. 6. Republic of Hungary: Budapest
  7. 7. Republic of Iceland: Grindavik (Blue Lagoon)
  8. 8. Italian Republic: Abano
  9. 9. Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan: Ma'in
  10. 10. Mongolia: Bayankhongor Province
  11. 11. New Zealand: Taupo
  12. 12. Republic of Korea: Busan
  13. 13. Kingdom of Spain: Madrid
  14. 14. Kingdom of Thailand: Chiang Mai Province
  15. 15. United Kingdom: Bath
  16. 16. United States of America: Hot Springs (Arkansas)
  17. 17. Socialist Republic of Viet Nam: Tuyen Quang Province
Summit in Figures
1. Summit Participants: 1,039
Participants from overseas: 86 Participants from Japan: 953 (Local Government: 272, Societies and Companies, etc.: 262, other: 419)
2. Registered Media Representatives: 46
Overseas Media: 18 Representatives from 6 Countries (France, Germany, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom, United States) Japanese Media: 28 Representatives from 20 Media Companies
3. Administrative Staff: 185
Prefectural and Municipal Staff: 152 Student Volunteers: 33